You’re young, You’re going to make mistakes

If you’re like me, you like to have fun. I’m a very out going person and I tend to do what I want to do, often not thinking about the consequences.  One of my favorite mistakes was thinking it was okay to dress up as Britney Spears for Halloween, I’d still do it again. That’s just one of the many examples of me not giving a fuck at all and doing what I want to do. That was a great night. When I was 14 I had my first “get together” with two friends. That night I met a guy and he became a very important person in my life at that time. This guy helped me out a lot, he would sit in front of me at football games so I could look at him when I would be cheering. He calmed my nerves and made cheerleading so much easier. He was an ear to listen to whenever I needed one. He also brought me down a lot. Now, I still head to a few parties every now and then but I make sure I’ll be getting home safe. That wasn’t the case my freshman year. I was partying every weekend and wouldn’t watch what or how much I was drinking. If I could take all that back I would. I could’ve spent my weekends being productive or doing other stuff. Around October This guy and four other friends were hanging out and “that” guy decided to break into the store behind one of the friend’s house. I wish I could say I objected but I didn’t. Now I’m going to skip ahead a bit. A few months later “that guy” was arrested. That day I was brought to the police station and told them about what happened. I gave my statement and left. My friends did the same. February 27th, 2014 I was pulled out of my 2nd-period class and was arrested. All of us involved were. We were told we’d be going to a juvenile center for the weekend. I’m not going to lie and say it was horrible, The guys were all scary looking thugs, or that it changed my life. None of that would be true. It wasn’t horrible, (not as bad as I imagined) I became friends with some of the guys in there and keep in touch, it didn’t change my life. What opened my eyes was my mom crying in front of me during visitation. I never wanted to see my mom hurting like that because of me again. That Monday we saw the judge and he ordered us a year on probation, 100 hours of community service, a four-week boot camp, and a list of classes I was ordered to attend after school. Due to good behavior, I was let off early and only spent a year half a year on probation. When I got back to school the next day I was informed I was no longer an LHS cheerleader. This isn’t something I would redo. I learned a lot and it helped me grow up. I made mistakes and that’s okay, what isn’t okay is to not learn from them. I still make mistakes and I’m always going to. The mistakes we make don’t define us. What we learn from our mistakes help shape us into the people we’re meant to be. One day you’ll look back at those choices and to where you are now and think “How the hell did I get here?” I do it every day.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑