Poems

I’ll, but you’ll

When you’re trapped in a state of despair, I’ll wrap you in a hug full of rapture
When there’s no light at the end of the tunnel, I’ll shine a radiant light for you
When you’re incapable of standing up for yourself, I’ll stand tall for you
When the world comes crashing down, I’ll bear its weight for you

If you ever find yourself outside alone, I’ll take you in like a stray animal and nurse you
If you can’t ever form a new path in your life, I’ll demolish the objects in your blocked path
If there comes a time when you can’t fight your own battle, I’ll command my troops to finish the job
If you ever lose a part of yourself, I’ll create a search party and locate it

I’ll but you’ll

When I’m trapped in a wondrous state of rapture, you’ll wrap me in a hug full of despair
When I finally see the light at the end of the tunnel, you’ll eclipse the once radiant light
When I’m finally standing tall, you’ll make sure that soon I’m incapable of standing on my own
When I’m bearing the world’s weight, you’ll add pressure so the world comes crashing down

If I ever find myself outside alone, you’ll kick me like a stray animal and ignore me
If ever find a new path in my life, you’ll build objects to block my path
If there comes a time when I can’t fight my own battle, you’ll command your troops to finish the job
If I ever find a lost part of myself, you’ll steal it and withhold it from me

I’ll always remember the person you once were and cherish the memories, but you’ll deny the person I was for you and disregard the memories

Leave a Reply

